Weekend Reading 3.6.20

I couldn’t manage to pull together a post yesterday after I returned to California, though I wanted to. My plane landed at 1:30 a.m. Thursday morning then I had to drive 90 minutes to get home so by the time I left San Francisco and landed on my pillow at 3 a.m., I was wiped out! Traveling looks a lot like fun, and much of it is, but time spent at airports and on flights and shuttles back and forth is exhausting, and the lack of sleep catches up with me especially when I fly the cheaper flights at odd hours to save money.

Instead of writing I took a full day of self care, I slept in, I went to the gym, I ate super healthy food, I took a long bath, I listened to an encouraging podcast, and I snuggled with my kids. I’m a big believer in pausing and resting and saying no when worn out. We can’t pour from an empty cup, right?

I had a really wonderful time in the Florida Keys, there was this one moment I had an epiphany, I’ll write about that next week and share some photos of my visit. Also coming up in content lineup is a kitchen project I’m working on as a design consultant. My client had a big dilemma to solve and we figured it out, so I’ll write about that next week too. Finally, there are a few art prints dropping in the Restless Art Shop next week! I post those announcements on the RA Instagram if you’re interested in staying up to date.

I’m coasting into this weekend with plans to get caught up and so happy it’s going to rain tonight! Nature’s music is the best to fall asleep to, isn’t it?

Favorite links from the week:

I love the sophisticated colors, cozy textures, and simplicity of this bedroom.

Mesmerizing: tile making in process.

What a sweet story: this curio table makeover.

What’s the ideal age to retire? You’ll never guess.

The journey to happiness: what J.Lo. said.

The impact of coronavirus on traveling: 10 things to consider before canceling.

Teaching kids a valuable lesson with travel.

You don’t need more goals, you need more you.

.

Leave a comment